College of Pharmacy
masthead

Seminar Schedule Spring 2015
Seminars in Medicinal Chemistry/Pharmacognosy


(Seminars are Fridays at 11:30 AM in Room 134-3 PHARM in Chicago
and via remote in E226 in Rockford unless otherwise noted)

 

Monday, January 5
Time: 10:30 AM

Faculty Candidate Seminar:
Biosynthesis with a Twist: Giant Peptide Toxins from the Sponge Theonella swinhoei

Room: 134-2 PHARM
(E216 Rockford)

Michael F. Freeman, PhD
Human Frontier Science Program Long-term Post-doctoral Fellow, ETH Zurich, Institute of Microbiology, Zürich, Switzerland

   

Tuesday, January 6
Time: 11:30 AM

Faculty Candidate Seminar:
Natural Products: Engineering Structural Diversity and Addressing the Supply Problem

Room: 134-2 PHARM
(E216 Rockford)

Alessandra Eustaquio da Silva, PhD
Department of Biology, University of Bergen, Bergen, Norway

   

Friday, January 9

No Seminar

 

No Seminar

   

Monday, January 12 -- Spring Semester Begins

Friday, January 16

TBA

 

TBA

 

Wednesday, January 21
Time: 10:30 AM

Faculty Candidate Seminar:
Unraveling the Duality of Specialized Metabolites

Room: 36 PHARM
(E226 Rockford)

Laura Sanchez, PhD
IRACDA Fellow, University of California, San Diego

   

Friday, January 23

15th Webster-Sibilsky Lecture

 

William H. Gerwick, PhD, Professor, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
link

   

Monday, January 26
Time: 10:30 AM

Faculty Candidate Seminar:
Expanding the Chemical Space of Biosynthesis Through Discovery and Engineering

Room: 32 PHARM
(E210 Rockford)

John McIntosh, PhD
California Institute of Technology (CalTech) Chemistry and Chemical Engineering

   

Thursday, January 29
Time: 10:30 AM

Faculty Candidate Seminar:
Design of polyketide synthases for the engineered production of highly reduced compounds

Room: 36 PHARM
(E226 Rockford)

Ryan M Phelan, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow, Keasling Lab, University of California, Berkeley / Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

   

Friday, January 30

No Seminar

No Seminar

 

Wednesday, February 4
Time: 10:30 AM

Faculty Candidate Seminar:
How to Plug Ion Channels and Kill Viruses?

Room: 36 PHARM
(E226 Rockford)

Ian Tietjen, PhD
The University of British Columbia
Department of Anesthesiology, Pharmacology, and Therapeutics

   

Friday, February 6

No Seminar

 

No Seminar

   

Friday, February 13

No pain, no gain: how the anesthetic propofol increases host susceptibility to microbial infection

 

Nancy Freitag, PhD
UIC, Dept. of Microbiology (host: Mike Federle)

 

Friday, February 20

No Seminar

 

No Seminar

   

Thursday, February 26
Time: 2:30 PM

DISSERTATION SEMINAR:
"Natural Products with Biological Activities from Freshwater Cyanobacteria"

 

Shangwen Luo, PhD Candidate, Pharmacognosy (Advisor: Jimmy Orjala)

 

Friday, February 27
Time: 2:30 PM

College of Pharmacy Research Day:
Team-Based Care for Hypertension in the Age of Healthcare Reform

Room: 134-1 PHARM

Barry L. Carter, PharmD, BCPS, FCCP, FAHA, FASH, FAPhA, Patrick E. Keefe Professor in Pharmacy, College of Pharmacy, Professor in the Department of Family Medicine, Carver College of Medicine, University of Iowa

 

Friday, March 6

Pharmacologic Activation of Integrin CD11b/CD18 As a Novel Mechanism to Suppress Inflammatory Injury

 

Veneet Gupta, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Medicine & Immunology/Microbiology; Director, Drug Discovery Center, Rush University (hosts: Jason Hickok and Alan Kozikowski)
lab link

   

Monday, March 9
Time: 12:30 PM

DISSERTATION SEMINAR:
"Secondary Metabolite Regulation and Drug Lead Discovery from Aquatic Actinomycetes"

MBRB Auditorium

Skylar Carlson, PhD Candidate, Pharmacognosy (Advisor: Brian Murphy)

 

Friday, March 13

POSTPONED UNTIL SUMMER(?)

Research Sample Shipping Guidance:
EHSO will explain the required procedures for the shipping of research samples, namely dangerous goods in excepted quantities.  All MCP-affiliated students and research staff in MCP, ITR, CPB, and the UICentre are required to attend.

Please try to arrive a few minutes early to sign in.  Bring your iCard unless you've memorized your UIN number. 

 

Tom Johnson, EHSO

 

Friday, March 20

Third Annual Farnsworth Lecture:
TBA

 

Mansukh C. Wani, PhD, Principal Scientist Emeritus, Research Triangle Institute, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina
Wani-NCI

   

Friday, March 27

TBA

 

Shaun Lee, PhD
Notre Dame University (host: Mike Federle)

 

Friday, April 3

DISSERTATION SEMINAR:
TBA

 

Divya Vasudevan, PhD Candidate, Medicinal Chemistry (Advisor: Douglas Thomas)

   

Friday, April 10

No Seminar: MIKI 2015

 

The University of Kansas

 

Saturday, April 11

No Seminar: MIKI 2015

 

The University of Kansas

 

Sunday, April 12

No Seminar: MIKI 2015

 

The University of Kansas

 

Friday, April 17

TBA

 

George Haas, Kraft Foods (host: Richard van Breemen)

   

Friday, April 24

TBA

 

Carolyn Smith, Baylor College of Medicine (host: Greg Thatcher

 

Friday, May 1

TBA

 

Emily Scott, Kansas (host: Greg Thatcher)

   

Friday, May 8

No Seminar (Finals Week)

 

No Seminar

 

Friday, May 15

TBA

 

TBA

   

Course Coordinator: Michael Federle